building a beautiful and bountiful world in collaboration with nature

Forget Not

My father sent me a birthday card earlier in the year with a gorgeous photo of crocus flowers and a quote by Kahul Gibran:

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet, and the winds long to play with your hair.

I do forget.  It is easy to get caught up in the seriousness that is expected of adults, so I keep the card in a place where I will see it and read it and be reminded.

I was out doing some fall garden cleanup on Friday, cutting back peonies and oregano, as well as transplanting a rose bush.  It was our first truly cold, finger-nipping day of the season, topping out around 48 degrees with plenty of clouds that sometimes parted to let the sun warm my back while I worked.  At 2:30, as I was completing the rose transplant, a few flakes of snow drifted down then turned to a peppering of hail, then rain, then back to hail.

Earth and sky were playing with me in a beautiful dance of warm-and-cold, peek-a-boo, with a fun finale (the hail) as I was finishing up. Fanciful that might seem to some, but very real to me.

Forget not that the Earth loves your presence here. Your evolution has been purposeful, directed, imbued with meaning.  Forget not that She delights to feel your hands caressing her soils, and She loves to feel your laughter on the wind.

Leave a Reply

